A Ganesha story

Posted on October 27, 2012

0


Of the numerous experiences of His being, here’s one Ganesha story I want to share:

Mehrauli

Five months before I got married, I wanted to shift from PG accommodation in Janakpuri (Delhi) to 1 BHK accommodation somewhere closer to Gurgaon (for easier commute to work place). Mehrauli seemed like an exciting choice- culturally and easy on the pocket too.

I met up with a local broker in the evening and explored a few options. But nothing seemed interesting enough, all houses he showed lay too deep inside Mehrauli or were already booked. I was getting ready to leave when the broker requested time to show me one last property. We checked out the place, I liked the homely atmosphere there, and decided to take it. A 3-mins walk and I could connect to the main road too. Easy accessibility, perfect!

Kishangarh

However, the house was not located in Mehrauli, but an urban village I had no knowledge about- Kishangarh. I made half the payment, asked broker to get the agreement ready, and left. Few days later when I returned to pick up the agreement, I realized I was actually shifting to “Ganapathy Apartments”.

The story doesn’t end there.

The problem

The first few months were smooth and pleasant. I got married in Kolkata in December and made my way back to the flat in the Capital, only to find it incredibly messed up. My in-laws were coming to stay with us in Delhi and we had only 36 hours to fix the problem. We decided to look for new accommodation, but felt awful we had to shift out of “Ganapathy” apartments. Couldn’t understand why He was doing this to us.

Solution

Again I contacted a local broker and we explored a few other properties in Kishangarh. Chose a 2 BHK this time. Liked one property, a newly constructed building. It was late evening when I saw it, and hence the next day I brought my wife along to show her our new home- and that’s when I noticed the name of the apartment- “LORD GANESHA”.

I realized why He gave me trouble right after we reached Delhi. Because otherwise, neither I nor my wife would have chosen to leave our 1 BHK flat in “Ganapathy” apartments and move into a better home.

(End of Day 315)

Update: 13/08/2013

Shifted to a new home in Noida in March, 2013. No, this time the building was not named after Ganapathy. But it had another interesting connection. The broker who got me the new flat, his name was Ganesh..!! And he never did follow up for his commission, I had to remind him to ask me for it.. 🙂

Posted in: Uncategorized